CIF Southern Section announces football playoff divisions - Loyola remains in Division I

In Loyola's illustrious football history, the Cubs have always competed in the highest, most competitive CIF Southern Section playoff divisions. Back in the 1940s the highest playoff divisions was referred to as the Large Schools conference.  In the 1950s through the late 1970s Loyola competed in the AAAA division, and thereafter in the Big Five Conference.  Beginning in the late '80s the highest playoff division was known as Division I, and that designation has remained to date. 

The Cubs played in the Large Schools championship game for the first time in 1946, not long after the CIF Southern Section made the decision to allow private schools to compete in the playoffs.  Loyola has played in 111 playoff games in the top division of the Southern Section, winning 65% of them.  The Cubs have won six large school championships over the course of five decades, winning back-to-back AAAA titles in 1962 and 1963 and earning Division I championship trophies in 1990, 2003 and 2005.  In addition to the 1946 runner-up finish in 1946, Loyola was a championship runner-up in 1964, 1992, 1995, 1996 and 2000.  The Cubs have played in the semifinal round on 19 occasions.

This week the CIF Southern Section announced school placement in each playoff division for the upcoming season.  Last spring, for the first time in CIF history, the Southern Section began placing schools in playoff divisions based on various competitive equity factors, including strength of schedule and results against top flight competition over the previous two years.  Loyola is ranked 17th out of the 18 schools placed in Division I for the fall.  The placement in division I was earned in large measure because of the Cubs' 9-3 (17th in CalHi Sports final state rankings) campaign in 2015.

Sixteen of the 18 teams in the Division I classification will participate in the playoffs.  Mission League foes Chaminade, Serra, Bishop Amat and Alemany are also in D-I.

See the link below for the list of playoff classifications for 2017:


At the time of publication of this article, the 1975 championship was inadvertently left off the list of years Loyola won CIF football titles. In '75 the CIF AAAA champion Cubs (13-0) were also crowned National Champions by the National sports News Service.

Loyola is currently in the CIF mandated dead period.  Practice in preparation for the fall campaign will resume in a little over a week.